Do you need a DUI Lawyer in Aurora IL
Listed below are Laywers and attorneys Defending Clients in DUI Cases in Aurora, Illinois and Surrounding Areas
David Lee...Aurora DUI Lawyer Defending Clients in DUI Cases in Aurora, Illinois and Surrounding Areas.
If you or someone you know has been arrested and charged with a DUI or DWI, you should contact the Aurora criminal
defense attorney at the Law Offices of David Lee. Our attorney is highly experienced in criminal matters,
having been an Assistant State's Attorney. To ensure that your case is presented in the most
effective manner, resulting in the best possible results, it is important that you are represented by an
attorney who has the technical and legal knowledge necessary. DUI cases are often complicated legal matters,
based on both scientific and legal issues and considerations which must be understood and handled with
proficiency by a skilled attorney.
We understand that you are a unique individual and that your legal representation needs to address your
personal priorities and concerns. I firmly believe that effective legal representation can only be achieved
through open and honest communication. You should feel secure in knowing that you hired the right DUI
Defense Attorney to handle your particular DUI case. Let me use my knowledge, experience, and resources
to secure the best possible outcome in your DUI case. Contact my office today to begin your free initial
consultation!...More about DUI Lawyer David Lee
Ned C Khan...If you have been arrested for DUI and donít know where to turn, please contact me so that I can help you through this
difficult time. Getting arrested for DUI can be one of the most stressful and scariest moments a person may confront.
The threat of going to jail as well as the possibility of losing your driverís license are difficult problems to handle on your own.
I am here to tell you that many good people have made the same mistake you have and I have helped them over the hurdles of a DUI.
For over 20 years I have been defending people from DUI charges in Kane, DuPage, Kendall, Will and Cook counties. I have won DUI
cases after a trial, at pretrial hearings and as a result of plea negotiations with the State.
...More about DUI Lawyer Ned C Khan
Camic Johnson, Ltd....A DUI conviction can change your life in an instant. You may lose your driver's license or be
forced to spend a year or more in jail. To defend your rights and your freedom, you need skilled legal representation.
The law firm of Camic Johnson, Ltd., whose principal office is in Aurora, Illinois, has three decades of
experience successfully handling DUI cases.
...More about Camic Johnson, Ltd
DUI or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense in the state of Illinois. Generally, a first offense is charged
as a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail with fines of up to $2,500. An Illinois DUI can also affect the status of your
driver's license, resulting in the loss of your driving privileges. These various actions can be broken down into two separate issues. The
first (DUI) is a criminal offense, prosecuted at the Circuit Court level. The second (license suspension) is an administrative action,
handed down as a penalty by the Illinois Secretary of State.
In Illinois, a DUI (driving under the influence) offense covers all types of impaired driving, from driving drunk to driving while
under the influence of drugs (whether prescribed, abused, or illegal). Illinois has an aggressive anti-DUI program.
If your blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.08% or higher, you are legally drunk and it is illegal for you to drive. However, if
you are driving with a BAC between 0.05% and 0.08%, you may still be cited for a DUI if your behavior suggests you are impaired.
This is at the discretion of the officer citing you. Even with a BAC below the legal limit, you are still far more likely to
be involved in a fatal accident than if you didn't consume any alcohol.
Unlike being cited for driving with a BAC of 0.08% or above, BACs between 0.05% and 0.08% do not trigger the statutory
summary suspension detailed below; the penalties are instead entirely based on the outcome of the court case.
If an officer pulls you over for a moving violation and then determines that your BAC is 0.08% or more, or if you refuse testing,
the officer will immediately suspend your license. You will be given a receipt that will allow you to continue driving
(after your arrest, time to dry out in jail, bail, and arraignment) for 45 days and allow you time to fight the arrest and
suspension. After that, your suspension goes into effect. License Statutory Summary Suspensions for a 1st offense are as follows:
Fail chemical testing: 6 months
Refusal to submit to chemical testing: 12 months.
Administrative Driver's License Revocation
The Illinois Secretary of State will take action against your license if you are charged with a DUI or other serious offense.
Based on information the SOS receives from the state's attorney, your license can be revoked and remain revoked until the
outcome of your charge is decided. Once your license is revoked you are responsible to fulfill all the criteria of the court
and the Secretary of State before your license can be restored. This can include:
Secretary of State Penalties
Driver's license reinstatement fee after revocation: $500.
2nd and subsequent offenses require a formal hearing. Fee: $50.
New driver's license fee: $30.
Proof of financial responsibility.
Drug/alcohol program (if ordered).
Ignition Interlock Device (IID).
IID installation fee: $85
IID per month rental fee: $80
IID per month monitoring fee: $30
Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Devices
The first time you're convicted of a DUI offense, you'll have a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) installed on your
vehicle if you wish to have a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP). You will have to apply for the MDDP and, if approved,
you'll have to pay the all applicable fees for a BAIID in order to be able to keep driving.
Once you have been convicted of 2 DUIs, you will be required to obtain a Restricted Driving Permit (see below) and you'll
have a BAIID installed in your car for a period of 5 years. Only after this period is over can you apply for reinstatement.
Restricted Driving Permit
Certain drivers may be required to forfeit their driver's license in favor of a Restricted Driving Permit. This permit puts limits on
your driving privileges. If, for instance, you have been convicted of 2 DUIs or more, you'll be issued a restricted driving permit
as well as a requirement for a BAIID for 5 years.
If you have been convicted of at least 4 DUIs, you still have an option of applying for a restricted driving permit. You must FIRST
serve a license revocation of 5 years. After 5 years, you can apply through the Secretary of State. If you are approved, your
vehicle will be outfitted with a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device for the rest of your driving lifetime.
DUIs in Illinois Are Expensive
The State of Illinois imposes substantial financial and other penalties on drivers who are convicted of driving drunk. Because the
outcomes are so severe, many people accused of drunk driving engage DUI attorneys.
Illinois estimates that the minimum cost of a first DUI conviction is about $16,580. Where does this money go? To bail, bond,
attorney fees, fines, court-ordered assessments, remedial education or treatment programs, and insurance premiums up to triple
what they were before.
This total ratchets up for subsequent convictions.
Reinstating Your Driver's License
In order to reinstate your license you will need to:
Attend an informal hearing*
For a 1st offense this hearing can be conducted by visiting a hearing officer.
Multiple offenders** must request a hearing in writing and pay the $50 non-refundable filling fee.
Make sure your driving record has been cleared
Completed your alcohol/drug evaluation AND proof of treatment if it was required.
Completed the alcohol/drug remedial education program.
Have and file proof of financial responsibility.
Pay $500 reinstatement fee.
Retake and pass the driver's license exam (written, vision and driving).
Pay the application fee of $30.
You can either mail your reinstatement fee or pay by credit card by calling (217) 782-3619 (debit cards are not accepted).
The reinstatement becomes valid when the Secretary of State enters it on your driver's record.
*During the hearing you will need to show that public safety will not be endangered if you are allowed to have your driving
privileges restored. Your remedial efforts, your driving record and the offense will all be taken into consideration by the hearing officer.
**Multiple offenders must attend a formal hearing in Chicago, Springfield, Mt. Vernon or Joliet.
It's best to learn about the Illinois DUI laws before you ever get into trouble. If it's too late, it's still important to educate
yourself about what's in store as you enter the court system. The following publications can help as a first step, but if you're in
over your head, you should consult a DUI attorney.
DUI Fact Book: Probably your most informative resource, this 44-page booklet explains everything from the chronology of a DUI arrest
to the penalties for every type of DUI crime.
Use It & Lose It: The War on Drunk Driving: Penalties for DUI are even more severe for drivers under 21 years old. This pamphlet
for underage drivers explains the consequences of irresponsible actions.
SUMMARY: Illinois DUI Attorneys
Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in Illinois is a serious charge, and you might choose to hire a DUI attorney
to handle your case. A DUI lawyer can help in several ways, including explaining the court process and your DUI penalties.
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal advice and should not
be used as such.
Read below to learn more about the role of DUI attorneys in Illinois.
Hiring a DUI Attorney in Illinois
If you're charged with driving under the influence (DUI) in Illinois (also known as DWI), you may choose to hire a DUI attorney.
When looking for a lawyer, you can:
Ask for recommendations from people you know who have worked with DUI lawyers.
Seek an experienced attorney who has represented clients in DWI, DUI, and related cases.
Find a lawyer in your town or city who is likely to be familiar with local IL courts and law enforcement.
Schedule a consultation to talk to several lawyers before deciding which one to hire.
Ask about fees and other costs up front, including when your lawyer expects payment.
Keep reading to find out more about a DUI attorney's role.
How a DUI Attorney Can Help
Having a lawyer in your corner DOES NOT guarantee you a specific outcome.
With chemical test results, many DUI charges are easy to prove and result in conviction.
However, an Illinois DUI attorney can help in countless ways as you navigate the criminal court system. For example, a DUI attorney can:
Go to court on your behalf, or go with you if you're required to appear.
Help you decide on the best plea, testimony, and other strategies.
File required documents and forms with the court.
Make sure you understand your charges, penalties, and any other legal requirements.
The work that a lawyer does can save you time and ensure that your case is handled correctly.
DUI Penalties in IL
While you may still be convicted and penalized even with legal representation, your DUI attorney can assist you after your trial by
explaining your penalties to you.
Illinois DUI penalties can include:
A suspended or revoked IL driver's license
Community service, probation, and/or jail time.
A heavy fine.
Alcohol and drug education or treatment.
Installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
With various deadlines, places to visit, and additional costs to complete your sentence, things can go wrong even after your DUI
A DUI attorney can explain what you need to do in order to fulfill all of your obligations and prevent further penalties.
Arrested or charged with a DUI or DWI?
Driving under the influence (DUI) means operating a motor vehicle after consuming alcohol or drugs that have impaired a person's mental or motor skills. In most states, a person will be considered "impaired" if they exhibit objective signs of intoxication, or if they have a blood alcohol content of .08 or higher. Many states also have zero tolerance laws for drivers under 21, where any non-zero BAC level constitutes an offense. Most states also hold commercial drivers, such as truck drivers, to a more rigorous standard.
Law enforcement officers use a variety of tests, such as field sobriety tests and breathalyzers, to determine whether a driver is impaired by alcohol. In some jurisdictions, you have a right to refuse some of these tests, but in other jurisdictions you may be required to submit to them. It is important to know the law in your particular state, and to consult a DUI attorney if you are facing charges.
DUI lawyers are criminal defense attorneys focused on representing clients facing DUI/DWI/OWI charges. Each state has different DUI laws. An experienced DUI lawyer will be able to evaluate the case against you and present your options on how to best limit the impact of the charges against you. DUI lawyers also handle related cases such as driver's license reinstatement and DUI record expungement.
If you or someone you know has been arrested and charged with a DUI or DWI, you should contact the Aurora criminal defense attorney at
the Law Offices of David Lee. Our attorney is highly experienced in criminal matters, having been an Assistant State's Attorney. To
ensure that your case is presented in the most effective manner, resulting in the best possible results, it is important that you are
represented by an attorney who has the technical and legal knowledge necessary. DUI cases are often complicated legal matters, based
on both scientific and legal issues and considerations which must be understood and handled with proficiency by a skilled attorney.
Illinois DUI Cases
If you arrested for drunk driving, you will be asked by law enforcement to submit to a chemical test. If you refuse to do so, your license
will be suspended for 12 months by the Illinois Secretary of State in what is called a statutory summary suspension. If you take the
chemical test and your blood alcohol concentration is.08 or above, your test results will be used as evidence against you and you
will face a 6-month license suspension. In order to fight any statutory summary suspension as well as deal with the criminal aspects
of your DUI, it is important to have a highly-qualified attorney handling your case.
Contact Aurora DUI Defense Attorney David Lee
We understand that you are a unique individual and that your legal representation needs to address your personal priorities and concerns.
I firmly believe that effective legal representation can only be achieved through open and honest communication. You should feel
secure in knowing that you hired the right DUI Defense Attorney to handle your particular DUI case. Let me use my knowledge,
experience, and resources to secure the best possible outcome in your DUI case. Contact my office today to begin your free initial
Contact the Aurora DUI lawyer at the firm to discuss your case in a free consultation today!
The Law Offices of David Lee is available in Kane, Kendall, Dupage and Dekalb Counties.
Aurora DUI Lawyers and Attorneys
Defending Clients in DUI Cases in Aurora, Illinois and Surrounding
Areas...More about DUI Lawyer David Lee
Aurora DUI Lawyers - Defending Clients in DUI Cases in Aurora, Illinois and Surrounding Areas
NOTE: The content of this website is intended solely for informational purposes. It is not a source of legal
advice and should not be used as such. DUI or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense
in all states. Content on this page may have been taken directly from the lawyers web page or personal attorney profile.
Please contact the dui attorney listed on this page for any legal questions.